Welcome to Neversink

The Town of Neversink came into formal existence by an act of the Ulster County Legislature dated March 16, 1798. It’s first supervisor, Henry Reynolds, was appointed by that same legislature. Prior to that time, early Neversink or “Neversink Country” as it was sometimes known was part of the Town of Rochester, Ulster County. It was 1809 when Neversink became part of the newly created Sullivan County. In 1809 Neversink included part of Denning, Fremont, Callicoon, Liberty, Fallsburg and all of Rockland townships. In a short period of time, other legislative acts changed property lines and the present boundaries of the Town of Neversink were established. Historical research is often made difficult because the Town of Neversink moved from one county to another and the boundaries kept changing. Official records may be found in Ulster County until 1814. Only then do records show up in Sullivan County.

Burn Ban Now in Effect Statewide

Monticello, NY – With the New York State Burn Ban starting today and running through May 14, Sullivan County Fire Coordinator John Hauschild is emphasizing the fact that open burning isn’t just illegal – it’s incredibly dangerous.

“The snow cover remains, but vegetation is still dry and easily set aflame by sparks and ash,” he explained. “I’m urging everyone to avoid open burning and the consequences that can come with it: callouts of local fire departments, damage to plants and properties, and injuries – even death.”

According to the NYS Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC), open burning of debris is the single-largest cause of spring wildfires in the State. For details on the burn ban, visit the DEC’s website at www.dec.ny.gov/chemical/32060.html.